It was originally the villa of Iseya Hikoemon, a merchant in Honjo Uzumibori (present-day Sumida Ward), and came to be called Umeyashiki because of the many plum trees planted in the garden. The 8th Shogun Yoshimune also visited this place on his way back from hawking.
The area was so crowded as a holiday resort in the suburbs of Edo that it was even featured in Hiroshige Utagawa’s “Picture Book of Edo Souvenirs”.
In 1910, all the ume plum trees withered away due to flooding, and today only a stone beacon stands as a reminder of those days.
Site of Umeyashiki Information
|Name||Site of Umeyashiki|
|Address||Near 3-50-53 Kameido, Koto-ku, Tokyo|
How To Get To The Site of Umeyashiki
15 minutes on foot from Kameido Station on the JR Sobu Line
About 10 minutes on foot from Higashi Azuma Station on the Tobu Kameido Line\